Cliche Sunday…….kinda

I found the single-word prompt from WordPress again, this one being “trace.” I turned it over and over in my mind, thinking of all the different meanings I could use. But two ideas  kept circling in my brain: country singers and the cliché “without a trace.”  Happily, today’s Cliche Sunday is for W, and this post was born 🙂

“Bri, what’s wrong? It’s a party, ya know.”

“Oh, he left,” Bri sighed. “Just put on that cowboy hat and swaggered out the door.”

“Oh dear,” Marge said. Everyone  had seen it coming. Even Bri.  “I’m sorry.”

“Yeah, he had a rodeo down past Austin and I guess he didn’t wanna cheat on me, or miss out on any fun. So he broke up with me. What a jerk.”

“But a good-looking one, with broad shoulders,” Marge sighed a bit herself. “We were all living a bit vicariously through you.”

Dana left her group to see what they were talking about.

“Well, you know you are going to be better off.  Now you can find someone to relax with,” she said.

“I know, I know, you’re right,” Bri answered. “But he was so exciting…and the way he looked in those cowboy boots!”

“Cowboy boots aren’t everything,” Marge put in. “Even if they seem like they should be. Although, he did make that cowboy hat look damn good.”

“Girls, girls, focus!” Dana announced. “Let’s raise our glasses! Here is a toast to Bri, starting a new phase of her life–without a Trace!”

 

 

without a trace:  without leaving any signs to show where something or someone had been.  A trace, in this instance (although there are other meanings) , is a sign which shows you that someone or something has been in a location.  The cliché itself is very hard to find an origin on. The word trace itself can be, pardon the pun, traced back to the fourteenth century. A Middle English word that derived from the Latin “tractiare,” meaning to drag, as well as Latin “tractus”–to pull. The cliché was popular enough in the early 2000s to start a TV show of the name on CBS. 

1 Comment

Filed under Cliche Sunday

One response to “Cliche Sunday…….kinda

  1. Michelle Lowery

    I LOVED this one, Samantha! VERY clever. A story and a cliche all in one. Bravo!

    On Sun, Jun 4, 2017 at 5:39 PM, fictionwriterwithablog wrote:

    > samanthamacmaster posted: “I found the single-word prompt from WordPress > again, this one being “trace.” I turned it over and over in my mind, > thinking of all the different meanings I could use. But two ideas kept > circling in my brain: country singers and the cliché “without a trac” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

