Thoughts on a Bard

I don’t know about you,but I have a lot of thoughts for my blog while driving. The problem is remembering those thoughts when I sit at a keyboard. I don’t use my phone while driving, so finding the app to record my thoughts (and that silly little microphone icon) is not something I think of. Or want to try.

The other day while I was driving from one town (getting horse food) to another (work), I started thinking about 

A man born in 1564, living 400 years ago, and we still revere his plays. Think of all the playwrights–and novelists–that have fallen by the wayside in far less time. Why hasn’t Shakespeare?

Well, besides the fact that England might implode, it occurs to me that he has a firm grasp of humanity. His characters are so real, they still reach out and grab us.

I don’t particularly like Romeo & Juliet (I know, flay me later) but even I can see the brilliance of the characters that make it one his most popular plays. The feelings of the young lovers, and the sternness of the fathers are enduring. The tragedy of rival families–or countries or races–continues today.

The madness and guilt of Lady Macbeth washing her hands is an image that is hard to shake. Or improve upon. I doubt the many stolen ideas from his various plays could even be counted. Another legacy from Shakespeare is the way his ideas or characters have been appropriated into TV shows, movies, books and even songs.

Little did I know
That you were Romeo, you were throwing pebbles
And my daddy said, “Stay away from Juliet”
And I was crying on the staircase
Begging you, please, don’t go
Taylor Swift, Romeo and Juliet

1 Comment

Filed under writing

One response to “Thoughts on a Bard

  1. Great post. I believe you are right. Shakespeare is able to capture humanity at it’s worst and best. He is extremely good at showing the often fatal flaws characters have such as huburus. But he also shows, their is a bit of magic and the mystical in the world. I think both those things mak his work so compelling.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

