Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

Flash Fiction once more!! I can finally join in with Priceless Joy’s group, after many absent weeks. I looked at this photo, uninspired at first. Then it HIT me. What can I say, I am a sucker for romances 🙂 See what hit the rest of the marvelous writers inspired by this photo HERE. And I may have gone a bit over the 150 word limit, but these things happen when one is inspired. A good lesson to always look again.

“It fits!” he exclaimed.

“Means nothing,” she insisted. “It’s not mine.”

“Look,” he said, exasperated, “my Prince sent me out with this shoe. Come back with the lady it fits, he said. She is my true love, he said. And it fits you. So you must come with me.”

“I can’t come with you. I have never met your Prince. And I would never wear that glittery shoe.”

Ivana looked at the man in front of her. Rough and full of determination, the dainty shoe lost in his hand. Surprisingly, she found herself asking where this Prince was.

“Two counties over,” he answered, brightening. “Tis a simple ride to determine this.”

Ivana agreed to take the ride, asking questions about the man’s home and prince. He answered eagerly, extolling the beauty of the castle. He clearly held his Prince in high regard, relating funny stories about growing up with him. All too soon they arrived.

The Prince, a tall dark man, came running out to see them. His face fell when he saw Ivana. He was perfectly pleasant, but clearly was disappointed. A few moments more, he left them.

“I told you, more than one person can fit a shoe “Ivana said. “But, you never did tell me your name.”

“Arnold,” he said shyly, grasping her hand.

 

8 Comments

Filed under Flash Fiction

8 responses to “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

  1. Haha, never mind the prince, Arnold was finding his own Cinderella. Cute twist on a modernized fairytale. I like your take on the prompt picture 🙂

    Like

  2. HAHAHAHA! She fell in love with the messenger! Great story! Perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Was not expecting her a loveline between her and the messenger! Cute twist 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It does seem Arnold might make a good Prince charming…

    Like

Leave a Reply

