Cliche Sunday….

….kinda.  After all these cliché posts, I thought it might be fun to throw out a Challenge. Clichés are obviously overused, but I think that they can still be used cleverly in fiction.

The following is a list of clichés from a website with clichés that all writers should avoid. I Challenge all writers to pick one and write a story using it as a prompt. The story can be any length, from one paragraph Flash Fiction to as long as you want it to be.  If these don’t tickle your fancy, feel free to visit the site: 681 Cliches to Avoid.

  1. all’s fair in love and war
  2. armed to the teeth
  3. baptism by fire
  4. better mousetrap
  5. bite the dust
  6. crack of dawn
  7. dressed to kill
  8. easy as pie
  9. follow your heart
  10. horse of a different color
  11. judge a book by its cove
  12. kill two birds with one stone
  13. naked truth
  14. out of the frying pan into the fire
  15. salt of the earth
  16. take the bull by the horns
  17. weather the storm

Now, I am not leaving it as just a simple challenge, of course. I will be using one myself and (hopefully) posting it on Tuesday. I am fond of Snoopy’s story starter: It was a dark and stormy night.

I also have some special bloggers in mind that I want to challenge an I think their stories will be particularly interesting:

Sony @ only 100 words

My pink friend over @ anelephantcant

PricelessJoy @ (of course) Priceless Joy

Izzy @ izzygrabslife

Lynn @ word shamble

 

9 Comments

Filed under Cliche Sunday

9 responses to “Cliche Sunday….

  1. AnElephantCant create a new story
    He’s just a poet and an old bore don’t you know
    You can ask C.E. Ayr (http://ceayr.com/)
    If he likes your dare
    But AnElephant writes this clichéd piece long ago
    http://anelephantcant.me/2012/07/21/a-duck-billed-platitude/

    Like

  2. Ooh, darn it. How can I resist? It’s a great idea, Samantha. Do we have a deadline?

    Like

  3. This is such a great idea! Thanks for challenging me 🙂

    I’ll come back to this on Wednesday, I reckon (MFtS today and FFfAW tomorrow, obviously).

    Like

  4. Pingback: Dressed to Kill | Only 100 Words

  5. Pingback: All’s Fair in Love and War « Stories and Scribblings

  6. Great idea for a challenge!

    Not sure if my pingback worked, but here’s my story:

    https://thethingsiyell.wordpress.com/2015/10/29/alls-fair-in-love-and-war/

    Like

  7. Pingback: Quasimodos and Casanovas | Word Shamble

Leave a Reply

