I left my heart in San Francisco…..

 

“Mr. Hartley,” the doctor boomed, “you are a very lucky man!”

I pushed upright in the bed and looked around the hospital room. What was I doing here? I looked back at the doctor, a large,cheery man. He seemed to know what I wanted.

“Your surgery was not going well, we thought we would lose you. But a donor became available during the surgery and we managed a  transplant right then. You have been in a coma for a few weeks, we thought it safer to keep you under for you to heal. Your wife has been here, but she had to go back to Utah. The children,  you know. Of course you know!” the doctor laughed. “But  you will be free to go home today.”

Still dazed, I boarded the airplane for home mere hours later. I ‘d had a heart transplant. Is that why I felt so odd? Nothing made sense. And when I got to the airport at Salt Lake, and looked at my beautiful Natalie with her heart in her eyes, I felt nothing at all for her.

 Went over a bit this week, 181 words. Another intriguing prompt from PricelessJoy for the Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Check out all the stories here!

 

15 Comments

Filed under Flash Fiction Friday

15 responses to “I left my heart in San Francisco…..

  1. Oooh, great idea! There might be a longer story in here. Nicely done 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent story and writing! Wouldn’t it be strange if that really did happen with transplants? Eerie! Suppose now he is to find the person that heart does love. 😮

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! This is an excellent story, you held my attention from line one, when the doctor congratulated Mr Hartley ~ Right up to his reaction to poor Natalie ~ A very interesting transplant scenario ~ Well written Samantha ~

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the way this is written. Great story!

    Like

  5. Pretty convenient he had a last minute donor. But I liked the twist at the end that his new heart didn’t love his wife.

    Like

  6. Well, I really like this. You have a nice, flowing writing style and have created an intriguing story. The twist at the end is pefect. A very enjoyable read. 🙂

    Like

  7. Samantha, I wanted to take this opportunity to tell you thank you for participating with the FFfAW Weekly Challenge group of writers. I am very pleased you chose to submit a story and you are an excellent writer. I am sure I, as well as the others, can learn from you. I hope you will continue to participate with our writing challenge and if so, I look forward to reading your future amazing stories. PJ

    Like

  8. A unique perspective and take on this prompt. The world he once knew isn’t his anymore. Leaves me to wonder if he did “die” anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

