Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

You may like to read the other part of this story first, which I posted earlier today.  My two photo prompts blended together beautifully this week.

 

The School

Sophie popped out of space, stumbling as the green–green? her mind shrieked–clawed hand let go of her. Expecting to be drowning, she gasped like a landed fish.

“Here now,” an upper-class, motherly  voice said, “its okay. Just take a deep breath.”

Sophie turned to look at the voice. Too astonished to be afraid, she stared.  The voice belonged to a green scaly creature.

“You have questions, I’m sure,” it said. “It was the crystal, you see. Only special–“

It’s head popped up, then it reached it’s arm into nothing, and pulled out a boy.

“And here’s another,” it said amiably.

“George? George, what are you doing here?” Sophie exclaimed as she recognized her classmate. “What has George to do with it? He can’t even speak!”

“Can,” he muttered as he looked around. Sophie realized he was taking it better than her and stiffened her spine.

“Well, come along children, everything will be explained when you get to the school,” the creature said happily as it turned towards the large ramshackle building behind it. “We’ll be just in time for lunch.”

This prompt was brought to us by Priceless Joy, our leader of Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Check out all the other excellent stories HERE.  Mine ran a bit long at 184 words this week.

12 Comments

Filed under Flash Fiction Friday

12 responses to “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

  1. Oh, I do hope Sophie and George aren’t on the lunch menu! WONDERFUL story but there needs to be at least one more continuation so we can get off the edge of our seats. 😀

    Like

  2. I had the same thought as PJ – what if they’re lunch?

    This is great. I’m looking forward to the next instalment 🙂

    Like

  3. Lol. I have a feeling they’re going to be lunch. It was also amusing this creature pulled out the girl’s classmate. Something to watch for (an editor suggested this to me, as well) it’s better not to break up dialogue in the middle of sentences because it disrupts the flow of reading. I was told to put dialogue tags where dialogue ends naturally. Otherwise I enjoyed your story.

    Like

    • it does disrupt the flow, but it’s more natural, because we get interrupted all the time. Well, I get interrupted….wait, you don’t?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lol. Oh course I get interrupted. I completely agree, I use dialogue that interrupts each other. I think we’re thinking of different sentences. It’s the second sentence where you inserted a dialogue tag in the middle of a character’s dialogue. It’s just something I was told by an editor who writes professionally and I thought I’d pass the info along. But we all have our own personal writing styles. 🙂

        Like

      • Ah-ha! I will go back and check what I did. It may very well have been carelessness rather than on purpose 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. So many questions that need to be answered! Great story 🙂

    Like

  5. Hi! I just wanted to stop by and thank you for participating in these challenges. I sure hope you will continue. I love reading your stories! PJ

    Like

Leave a Reply

