Friday Fictioning Again

©Dawn_Landau

                        A Girl’s Best Friend

 

Birds chirped, breeze whispered in the trees: Becky noticed nothing. She tramped along, lost in her totally cruddy day.  She didn’t notice the dog slinking behind her.

Tobin will never call me, chanted through Becky’s brain. Nasty Jackie. Rotten friend.

Deep in her thoughts, she got to the rail crossing and didn’t hear the bells; just absently stepped on the tracks. Becky froze when she realized the train was aiming at her. A sudden tug of her backpack had her stumbling wildly back.

“Do you have a home?”

The dog sat there, tongue lolling.

“Well, you best come with me.” 

My picture this week came from the Friday Fictioneers, so I was back on the hook for simply 100 words. I hope you like the ones I picked–many others were chopped! A regular alphabet bath, it was.

Check out other stories inspired by this picture at the link for the Fictioneers above.  Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for taking the time to post a prompt each week 🙂 Her site is rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Friday Fictioning Again

  1. A timely rescue. Nice setup and a snappy ending. Good story.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sounds like the real-life version of Lassie to me. I agree with Margaret, you set up the ending nicely 🙂

    Like

  3. So many dog rescue stories this week. Lovely! I feel a bit guilty that my dog was the opposite!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good dog. I think she’s found a winner there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

